On the radar: “Collect”

Pick up or gather person(s) or thing(s); commonly used in reference to children and tickets.

“Ms. Knox, 24, from Seattle, was returned to prison to collect her possessions and left less than a few hours later.” (New York Times, October 3, 2011)

2 responses to “On the radar: “Collect”

  1. What struck me as oddest about this quote was the phrase “less than a few.” I’m fairly certain I’ve never come across that before, but I googled it, and it does, in fact, get well over 100,000 ghits.

    Very odd phrase.

  2. Seriously, you don’t use “collect”? I am surprised. I thought it was just a word everyone knew.

Leave a Reply

